Home School

Reading “Mothers Teaching Children in the Home,” Elder L. Tom Perry of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, April 2010 General Conference, Saturday Afternoon Session

Elder Perry had a marvelous mother. Elder Perry shares stories that show how her constant dedication to teaching her children manifested in their lives. Families today also need to teach their children the gospel. He says,

Parents must bring light and truth into their homes by one family prayer, one scripture study session, one family home evening, one book read aloud, one song, and one family meal at a time. They know that the influence of righteous, conscientious, persistent, daily parenting is among the most powerful and sustaining forces for good in the world. The health of any society, the happiness of its people, their prosperity, and their peace all find common roots in the teaching of children in the home.

My children are two years old and three months old. Sometimes, I don’t feel like there is much teaching going on because things seem to be so busy. Another diaper, another meal, another mess to clean up. However, as I read this I realized I am teaching my children, especially my two year old, things all the time. She is too young to understand deep gospel topics, but I am teaching her about love and respect and kindness all the time. I also thought of many things I could do to better to teach her about the gospel, such as being more diligent about scripture study.

Here’s a more practical question for today: How do you get a two year old to do scripture study? We were doing it right before bed, but then she figured out that scripture study = going to bed, which is something she usually doesn’t want to do, so she absolutely refuses to sit still and listen, even though she normally likes to read books. If any moms read this, I could use some advice.

Here’s a more regular question: What things did your mother do that taught you? Even if your mother (or other primary guardian) wasn’t religious, how did she teach you about what was important to her? How can you help teach little children, in your family or outside?

1 comment so far

  1. Moore to ponder on

    I noticed that the title of this entry is “Home School”. Are you planning to homeschool your children? Homeschooling is a wonderful way to take so many moments and allow them to become teachable moments for both you and your children. I am thinking about a Bible verse that applies:

    “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

    I remember how excited I was when I was your age. Even now it still brings joy to my heart. My son is 22 and my daughter is almost 16. I have so many memories of times when my children would ask a question about the Lord or the Bible, and it did not matter if we were doing something else; I would drop everything in that moment to search the scriptures and teach them.

    My first thought is about infants. I used to sing hymns while nursing. I like to think that the Spirit itself can bear witness when we are worshiping even with little babies.

    Now I am thinking about two year-old children. You could take simple little stories about the gospel and read them to her while she plays, and maybe use little preschool arts and craft projects to help illustrate them. Once again songs can be so helpful. I do not know anything about the hymnnals used in your particular denomination, but there are some where Psalms, for example, are set to music.

    I have some very precious memories of my grandmother sitting quietly beside me telling me about Jesus, and teaching me prayers.

    I hope this helps a little.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

