Leading the Youth

Reading: “Help Them On Their Way Home,” President Henry B. Eyring, First Cousnelor in the Presidency of the Church, April 2010 General Conference, Saturday Morning Session

Yesterday I wrote about Elder Ballard’s talk about mothers helping their (mostly) teenaged daughters. Today I am writing about Elder Eyring’s appeal to the general membership of the church to help all the youth. He says,

Brothers and sisters, our Heavenly Father wants and needs our help to bring His spirit children home to Him again. I speak today of young people already within His true Church and so are started on the strait and narrow way to return to their heavenly home. He wants them to gain early the spiritual strength to stay on the path. And He needs our help to get them back to the path quickly should they begin to wander.

The youth today face a great deal of temptation. I was only a youth 10 years ago, and I know that they have it much harder than I did. When I think of the temptations I faced as a youth, I am extremely greatful that I did not give into those temptations because it has made my life right now infinitely easier. Protected by good habits, a good marriage, and faith in God I feel secure and safe.  I hope that I can find ways to help other young people make it through that hard time of tempting choices.

What temptations did you face as a youth that you are glad you did not give in to? What can you do to help the youth in your life make good choices?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

